Winston Churchill


The next deadline for submission of applications for the Churchill Scholarship is Tuesday, November 10, 2015.


Congratulations to Julius Lucks, Churchill Scholar 2001-2002, Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Cornell University, who has been named a 2013 New Innovator by the National Institutes of Health. The NIH award is accompanied by a five-year, $1.5 million research grant under the NIH’s “High Risk High Reward” grant program.

Congratulations to Rameen Beroukhim, Churchill Scholar 1991-1992, an associate member of the Broad Institute, a member of the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute’s Center for Neurooncology, an assistant professor at Dana-Farber and the Harvard Medical School, and an attending oncologist at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, for being featured in an article on genetic oncology in The Economist (September 28, 2013, p. 77)

Congratulations to Aaron Pixton, Churchill Scholar 2007-2008, for being named a 2013 Clay Research Fellow and for being appointed to the Harvard Society of Fellows.

Congratulations to Danielle Bassett, Churchill Scholar 2004-2005, for being named a 2014 MacArthur Foundation Fellow. Dani, who recently served on the Foundation's Screening Committe, is a physicist using tools from network science and complex systems theory to enhance our understanding of connectivity and organizational principles in the human brain. She is currently the Skirkanich Assistant Professor of Innovation, Department of Bioengineering at the University of Pennsylvania.

Congratulations to the Churchill Scholars 2015-2016. Click here to read their profiles.